Electronic Fingerprint Submissions for Individuals and Agencies Licensed Under Chapter 493, Florida Statutes
If you are applying for a license in the Private Investigative Industry, Recovery Industry, or Security Industry under the authority of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, the following questions and answers will help guide you through the process of submitting your fingerprints electronically.
Please read this material carefully in its entirety. Take note that the procedure to follow in getting your fingerprints scanned and in submitting payment for the electronic fingerprint submission will depend upon where you go to get your prints taken. In the material on this site we have tried to spell out in detail the options available to you and the procedures to follow depending upon the option you select.
If you have any questions or need additional clarification, please call our Public Inquiry Section at 850-245-5691.
A: Applicants for an individual or agency license issued under the authority of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, have a number of options as to where they can get their fingerprints taken. The options are enumerated below:
We strongly recommend you telephone your sheriff's office in advance to confirm that particular office provides electronic fingerprint scanning services and to reserve an appointment time if one is necessary.
The documentation you receive when you get your fingerprints scanned will vary depending upon which option you select. Generally, however, the technician scanning your prints will give you some sort of RECEIPT and/or a PHOTOCOPY of your fingerprints upon completion of the scan.
Please keep these documents. They contain your Transaction Control Number, which is needed if you pay for the fingerprinting service on line, rather than at the sheriff's office or the private vendor. Also, copies of the documents should be submitted with your application.
OPTION 1 . If you have your prints scanned at a sheriff's office, the fee will be approximately $35. Keep in mind that some sheriff's offices may charge an additional nominal fee for providing the fingerprinting service. Usually, this is no more than a few dollars.
OPTION 2. The fee for having your prints scanned at one of our Regional Offices is $42.
OPTION 3. The private vendors that perform electronic fingerprint scans set their own fees for providing this service. You will need to telephone the service provider to obtain this information.
(If you submit your fingerprints using the traditional “hard-card” fingerprint method directly to us along with payment for the fingerprint processing, the cost for the fingerprint submission is $42.)
OPTION 1. A few sheriffs’ offices can accept payment by check or money order at the time and place where your fingerprints are scanned. However, most sheriffs’ offices cannot accept such payments. If you have your prints scanned at a sheriff's office that cannot accept payment, you will have to submit payment online using a secure web site created by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. Here is the link for the Civil Applicant Payment System, or CAPS.
OPTION 2. The Regional Office where you have your fingerprints scanned can accept payment for this service.
OPTION 3. Some of the private vendors collect the fingerprinting fee at the time the fingerprints are scanned. Other vendors, however, will require that you submit payment using the Civil Applicant Payment System, or CAPS. You will need to follow the instructions provided by the vendor when you have your fingerprints scanned.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION IF PAYING ONLINE
It is important to remember that you will need to go online to submit payment for your fingerprint submission WITHIN 30 DAYS OF HAVING YOUR FINGERPRINTS SCANNED or your electronic response will be deleted by FDLE from the CWCS database.
You will need a CREDIT CARD in order to submit payment online using the Civil Applicant Payment System.
The RECEIPT that the fingerprint technician gave you will include a Transaction Control Number (TCN) and your name. (The TCN will begin with 70SX, 70LX, 70SO, or 70C and be followed by a number that will consist of as many as 18 digits.)
You must enter the TCN and your name in the appropriate spaces provided on the web site EXACTLY AS THEY APPEAR ON THIS RECEIPT.
Upon completion of payment submission, be sure to print a receipt indicating that you have completed your online payment.
A: Submit any RECEIPTS you have been given or have printed from the online payment system along with your application. If you were given a PHOTOCOPY of the electronic fingerprint submission, submit that to us as well. Please be sure that you include all the documentation specified in the instructions included with your application package (completed application, passport-style color photograph, training documentation, proof of insurance, appropriate licensing fees, etc.).
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WHEN SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION
Remember that you do not have to submit any additional payment for the electronic fingerprint scan. You need only submit payment for the LICENSE FEE and APPLICATION FEE (if you are applying for a Class "D" Security Officer license or a Class "G" Statewide Firearm license you are not required to pay an APPLICATION FEE).
You should submit your application to the Division of Licensing WITHIN 90 DAYS of your fingerprint-scan to avoid inconvenience and additional expense. Be sure to include the following items with your application: photocopies of your fingerprint scan and all receipts (including the CWCS receipt), a photograph, training documentation and a check or money order for the license fee.
Our Division strives to provide prompt and professional service to our applicants and licensees, but we are able to do so only insofar as the requirements of the law are complied with. Failure to follow these instructions precisely may result in the unnecessary delay of the processing of your application for licensure.